top of page
USA Flag


The New England High Intensity Drug Trafficking Area (HIDTA) is one of 32 HIDTAs under the Office of National Drug Control Policy (ONDCP) and is comprised of the six New England states, including Connecticut, New Hampshire, Maine, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, and Vermont. Based on regional drug threat assessments, including the New England HIDTA Drug Threat Assessment published annually by the New England HIDTA Investigative Support Center (ISC), the New England HIDTA has formulated strategies in response to the most serious drug threats to the region.

These strategies are implemented by the 20 enforcement initiatives spread throughout the six New England states. Each initiative is a cooperative effort among federal, state, and local law enforcement agencies working together to target drug trafficking organizations (DTOs) and money laundering organizations (MLOs) that impact this region and other HIDTA regions throughout the country.

Designated Counties

Geographic Area of Responsibility by County

Learn more


  • Bristol

  • Essex

  • Hampden

  • Middlesex

  • Plymouth

  • Suffolk

  • Worcester


  • Cumberland


  • Fairfield

  • Hartford

  • New Haven

New Hampshire

  • Hillsborough

  • Rockingham

Rhode Island

  • Providence


  • Chittenden



The mission of the New England HIDTA is to disrupt the market for illegal drugs in New England in support of the National Drug Control Strategy by assisting Federal, state, and local law enforcement entities participating in the HIDTA program to identify, disrupt, and dismantle drug trafficking organizations; and to further reduce the harmful consequences of drug trafficking by promoting public safety and public health partnerships.


Build safe and healthy communities by developing collaborative solutions, innovative strategies, and meaningful partnerships to reduce drug trafficking and its harmful consequences.

bottom of page